A new year!

A new year presents an opportunity for new year resolutions, new approaches, and new ways of doing things.  To form new year resolutions we often reflect on the past.

In keeping with this theme, last year University Library employees prepared a self-assessment of library operations (collections, facilities, services, and our organizational culture) in preparation for a library review by a panel of external experts.

The members of the review team are all seasoned professionals who in their own right have already made many contributions to librarianship, nationally and internationally, and I am personally keen and interested to hear their assessment of the University Library. The members of the review team are:

Mr. Gerald Beasley – Vice-Provost and Chief Librarian, University of Alberta
Gerald Beasley was appointed Vice-Provost and Chief Librarian on July 1, 2013. His previous library experience includes leadership positions at the Canadian Centre for Architecture, Montreal; the Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library, Columbia University, New York; and Concordia University, Montreal. He has also worked at the Royal Institute of British Architects and the Wellcome Institute for the History of Medicine in London, England. He is currently President of the Canadian Association of Research Libraries (2013-2015).  Mr. Beasley’s academic qualifications are: M.A. English Language and Literature, Oxford University; M.A. Library Studies, University College London.

Ms. Joyce Garnett – University Librarian Emeritus, Western University
Joyce Garnett is university librarian emeritus at Western University in London, Ontario, and recently served as Interim Dean of the University Library for Iowa State University. Ms. Garnett has 40 years of experience as a librarian, including 33 years teaching, and 34 years in leadership positions both at universities and in the private sector.  Ms. Garnett’s academic qualifications are: M.L.S. McGill University; B.Sc. McGill University.

Dr. Elliot Shore – Executive Director of the Association of Research Libraries Elliott Shore has served as the Executive Director of the Association of Research Libraries (ARL) since January 2013. From 1997 to 2012, Dr. Shore served as the Constance A. Jones Director of Libraries, and professor of history at Bryn Mawr College. Dr. Shore speaks and publishes widely, most recently with a focus on the future of research libraries and the need for coherence at scale in higher education.  Dr. Shore’s academic qualifications are: PhD History, Bryn Mawr College; M.S. Library Science, Drexel University; M.A. International History, London School of Economics and Political Science;  B.A. History, Temple University.

The three external reviewers will also joined by internal reviewer:

Dr. Jay Wilson – College of Education, University of Saskatchewan
Jay Wilson is an Associate Professor and Department Head & Graduate Coordinator of Curriculum Studies with the College of Education. Dr. Wilson is also currently the chair of the Teaching, Learning, and Academic Resources Committee of University Council.  Dr. Wilson’s academic qualification are: Ed.D., University of Southern Queensland; M.Ed. Educational Communications and Technology, University of Saskatchewan; B.Ed. Elementary Education, University of Saskatchewan;  B.A. History, University of Saskatchewan.