Women of distinction

University of Saskatchewan alumni were once again recognized by the Saskatoon YWCA with the annual Women of Distinction Awards nominations.

Kathryn Ford (BA’71) was named the 2017 Women of Distinction Lifetime Achievement Award recipient.

This year’s Lifetime Achievement Award recipient is Kathryn Ford (BA’71) who later completed a law degree. Since her admission to the Saskatchewan bar in 1977, Ford has been a force in Saskatchewan’s legal community and has done pioneering work in collaborative law. Her work ensures that all voices are heard and that decisions are made collectively.

Ford is also has been responsible for building capacity for community organizations, including the YWCA and the Prairie Hospice Society, leading expansion and transformation that has strengthened our community and empowered individuals. In 2013, she joined the U of S Board of Governors.

Other alumnae include:

  • Community building
    • Connie den Hollander (BA’85, LLB’91)
    • Judy Hannah (BSHEC’76)
    • Chantelle Johnson (BA’99, LLB’03)
    • Keisha Sharp (MPH’15)
  • Education
    • Claudette Degagne-Ellis (MEDUC’15)
    • Lana Elias (BEd’96 BSc’02)
    • Kelly Van Damme (MFA’04)
    • Chelsea Willness (BA’02)
  • Entrepreneurship
    • Mackenzie Firby (BComm’03)
  • Health and wellness
    • Noreen Agrey (BA’79; BEd’89)
    • Jana Danielson (BComm’95; MBA’00)
    • Dr. Vicki Holmes (MD’73)
    • Haylie Lashta (BSc 2009, MPT’11)
    • Amy Smith-Morris (BSP’10)
  • Leadership and professions
    • Joy Crawford (BComm’93)
    • Nancy Lautner (BComm’95)
  • Research and technology
    • Jacqueline Cook (BComm’13)
    • Erika Dyck (BA’98, MA’00)
  • 29 and under
    • Ashlyn George (BA’09; BEd’10)

View the full list on the YWCA website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *