Alumni Achievement Award recipients to be recognized


Dr. Farrah Mateen (MD’05), the 2013 Young Alumni Achievement Award recipient

Congratulations to the 2013 Alumni Achievement Award recipients. This year’s recipients are (view biographies and photographs):

Dr. Farrah J. Mateen, MD’05 (young alumni recipient), for her internationally recognized research and scholarship in global health and neurology.

The Hon. Charles (Charlie) Mayer, BSA’64, for his lifetime of commitment and contributions to the agricultural industry in Canada as a public servant.

Professor Emeritus Dufferin (Duff) Spafford, BA’59, MA’61, for his significant work unearthing history and archival information on the U of S and its people.

Donald (Don) A. Mitchell, BA’69, MA’73, for his public service and contributions to community-based social and sustainability initiatives.

Dr. James Ogloff, MA’86, for his ground-breaking contributions to criminal justice and pioneering efforts in education and the practice of clinical forensic psychology.

A reception to recognize our distinguished alumni will be held on October 24, 2013, at TCU Place in Saskatoon. The Honouring our Alumni reception begins at 5:30 pm, and the award presentations will begin at 6:15.

Confirm your attendance online or contact us.

We will also recognize the following honorary alumni at the reception:
• Professor Emeritus David Kaplan
• Professor Emeritus Brian and Laurel Rossnagel
• Professor Emerita Lucy Willis

Each year, the Alumni Achievement Awards are presented to U of S graduates who advance the reputation of the University of Saskatchewan and the Alumni Association. Award recipients are chosen for their outstanding achievements and innovation; commitment to excellence; community engagement and leadership; and contributions to the social, cultural and economic well-being of society.

Nominate a U of S alumnus for next year’s awards.