A dozen U of S campus buildings are among the architectural treasures to discover at Doors Open Saskatoon 2007.
Thousands of people are expected to take part in the June 3 event, designed to celebrate the city’s architecture and heritage by inviting people to view some of the 30 designated unique buildings and spaces, many of which are not usually open to the public.
The free annual event, now in its third year, is part of a tradition that began in Europe and has spread all over the world, with New York City, Sydney, and Rio de Janeiro recently launching their own programs, a news release said.
Early University buildings, including the College Building and the Stone Barn, will have guided tours available, and costumed guides will present the Little Stone School House’s history.
St. Andrews College, completed in 1922, will offer self-guided tours and historic photo displays, and the 1991 Agriculture Building will have guided tours.
Other Doors Open Saskatoon buildings include the Museum of Natural Sciences between the Geology and Biology Building and in the Department of Geological Sciences, St. Thomas More College, and the Diefenbaker Canada Centre. On Research Drive in Innovation Place, the Atrium, the Galleria, Boffins Club and the Concourse will also open their doors.
Free metered parking on campus roads and in specified lots will be available for the event. Doors Open Saskatoon is a joint event organized by the Saskatoon Heritage Society, the City of Saskatoon, the Municipal Heritage Advisory Committee, and Meewasin Valley Authority.